The Amish Victims of Nickel Mines Reach Out To Newtown, CT

19 Dec

As some of you know, I am originally from Chester County, PA. Chester County borders on Lancaster County, the home of Nickel Mines, where six years ago five young girls were murdered when a mentally deranged man forced his way into their school and shot them.

I was living in Connecticut when this occurred. I remember exactly where I was, what I was doing. I was frantically making phone calls to home to find out what was going on. I remember feeling helpless. I remember crying uncontrollably thinking how can this happen so close to where I grew up.

My daughter was in kindergarten at the time. I remember thinking, these little girls were only a little older than my child. I decided that we were going to do something to help the families. I decided to get five autograph stuffed dogs and brought them to my daughter’s class. All of the children signed the five dogs for the surviving girls, and I wrapped them in decorated santa boxes for the holidays. We sent them to the families to offer some comfort that there were other little children thinking of them.

Little did I know that six years later my community would experience the same trauma that occurred in Nickel Mines. Twenty children and six teachers were murdered by a mentally deranged person. The same feeling of helplessness came over me. The same uncontrollable crying.

The families of the victims of Nickel Mines are reaching out to the families of Newtown, hoping to provide some comfort. I have listed the story below of how they plan to help:

http://www.nbcphiladelphia.com/news/local/Amish-Victims-of-06-Schoolhouse-Shooting-Write-Letters-to-Newtown-Victims-184111331.html

One Response to “The Amish Victims of Nickel Mines Reach Out To Newtown, CT”

  1. banner exchange services December 25, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    This is a good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Brief but very accurate info… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read post!|

Leave a Reply

