Talking to Your Kids About Hurricane Sandy

4 Nov

For the past few days, I have been talking to my daughter about Hurricane Sandy. We were fortunate to only have lost our power for a few days, and were a little cold right before the lights came back on. I wanted her to see what had happened.

I have had her watch the images on the TV of the devastation. After that, I had a talk with her. I told her that there are millions of people in our area who are suffering tremendously and need help. I think it is hard for even an older child to truly wrap their heads around what has happened, let alone a child who is living it.

I found this site that offers many resources on talking to your children about Sandy. I hope in some small way this can help your children try to understand what has happened to them.

http://hereandnow.wbur.org/2012/11/03/kids-talk-sandy

 

Leave a Reply

